Cappadocia: hot air balloon + sunrise

I have tried to watch the sun rise once before, during an April weekend. My friends and I were supposed to be camping – and I said “supposed” because it started raining at 2:00 AM and we had to evacuate the tent.

10653575_10204554682404616_3999148507926597745_nFortunately, we were able to save the marshmallows and the Nutella jar. We also had somewhere to go. We got to the plan B house a bit before 3:00 AM and I declared that I would watch the sun rise (probably for the first time in my life). I snuggled into my sleeping bag and waited for the first hint of sunlight.

I was too tired to notice that I was looking in the wrong direction. My friends were too tired to point it out as well. I fell asleep on a swing and missed my sunrise.

***

(August)

Having your mom waking you up at 4:00 AM when you’re supposed to be on vacation isn’t exactly picture perfect… but as it turns out, it was worth it.

4:10 AM: took the bus
4:20 AM: on site
***

I caught a sunrise on a hot air balloon along with my mom, three Lebanese who clapped when we took off, landed and whenever they had the chance, an Italian couple and our Turkish pilot.

My mom defied her fear of heights.
I got to cross two things off my bucket-list


Sunrise

Here’s a quote I found on the Artidote:

“The sunrise, of course, doesn’t care if we watch it or not. It will keep on being beautiful, even if no one bothers to look at it.” —Gene Amole

Leave a Reply

